Select Committee on Northern Ireland Affairs Third Special Report

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office; administration and expenditure of the Crown Solicitor's Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel.) Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of thirteen members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is four. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the dissolution of this Parliament. The present membership of the Committee, appointed on 19 July 2001, is as follows:

Mr Adrian Bailey, Labour/Co-operative, West Bromwich West

Mr Harry Barnes, Labour, North East Derbyshire

Mr Roy Beggs, Ulster Unionist Party, East Antrim

Mr Henry Bellingham, Conservative, North West Norfolk

Mr Tony Clarke, Labour, Northampton South

Mr Stephen McCabe, Labour, Birmingham, Hall Green

Mr Eddie McGrady, Social Democratic and Labour Party, South Down

Mr Michael Mates, Conservative, East Hampshire

Mr Stephen Pound, Labour, Ealing North

Mr Peter Robinson, Democratic Unionist Party, Belfast East

Rev Martin Smyth, Ulster Unionist Party, Belfast South

Mr Mark Tami, Labour, Alyn & Deeside

Mr Bill Tynan, Labour, Hamilton South

On 19 July 2001, the Committee elected Mr Michael Mates as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports, and with the House's Environmental Audit Committee or with the European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) for the purpose of deliberating or taking evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) may be accessed on the Internet through A list of the Committee's Reports in the last session of the previous Parliament is included in this volume.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is 020 7219 2172; the Committee's fax number is 020 7219 0580; and the Committee's e-mail address is: [email protected]

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 29 November 2001