Select Committee on International Development Fifth Report


The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development and its associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Tony Baldry MP (Conservative, Banbury) (Chairman)

John Barrett MP (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West)

Mr John Battle MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Hugh Bayley MP (Labour, City of York)

Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mr Tony Colman MP (Labour, Putney)

Mr Piara S. Khabra MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

Chris McCafferty MP (Labour, Calder Valley)

Mr Andrew Robathan MP (Conservative, Blaby)

Mr Robert Walter MP (Conservative, North Dorset)

Tony Worthington MP (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in the House of Commons Standing Orders, principally SO No. 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the International Development Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is: 020 7219 1223; the Committee's e-mail address is: [email protected]


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'. The oral and written evidence is published separately in Volume II (HC 785-II)


contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 24 July 2002